Skydiving, Nelson

My Skydive
My Skydive

On arrival in the South Island, our first stop was a winery. As I was feeling pretty rough from our night out in Wellington, I didn’t even go in. Next stop was our hostel, where me, Matt & Leticia and Becca quickly checked in, then headed out to Abel Tasman to go skydiving! I had been thinking of skydiving ever since I first got on the Kiwi bus, so many people were talking about how amazing it was and they eventually talked me into it! Originally I had wanted to do it at Franz Josef, but with only a 35% chance of having good enough weather for it, I thought maybe Nelson would be the perfect opportunity. However, our bus driver had said we would have been able to do it the next day (hangover free), so I was pretty surprised when he said he had booked us in for that afternoon, but at least I didn’t have any time to think about it! The worst part was going up in the plane, it took us about 15 minutes to reach 13,000 feet and even halfway looked really high. My camera man went out first, and climbed onto the side of the plane to make way for me and my instructor. Then I went with my tandem partner, Stuart, and we did a 50 second freefall before he let the parachute up. I was completely in shock for the 50 seconds and don’t really remember falling, Matt & Leticia kept asking me questions after and I was like ‘I don’t know, I don’t remember!’. Once the parachute went up, we floated down for about 4-5 minutes, taking in the amazing scenery of the Abel Tasman National Park. It was totally awesome, I definately want to do another one, maybe at 15,000 feet this time and without a hangover!

~ by mhairitravelblog on August 28, 2008.

Leave a comment